Book Review: Stealing Taffy by Susan Donovan

41uefQe++XL.jpg

There are a few things that this book has going for it, and unfortunately that’s about it. For me, it’s the book cover. The color and artwork and design, it is a book that would have me picking it up from the bookshelf and taking the time to read the back of the book.

However, once the book is picked up you must start reading it and hope that it is all that the back cover promises it to be. “A funny, sizzling romantic adventure that readers [will] love” – RT Book Reviews. For me, I didn’t pick that up from the parts of the book that I read.

The first chapter I felt like I was in quicksand, trying to sludge through. I didn’t like the girl Taffy from the get-go and the constant talk of sex this, sex that in her thoughts made me wonder if everyone outside of me always is thinking that way. To be honest, I don’t think so. And then Dante. I liked the way he sounded, but the name Dante sounded just so much like a Romeo in a bad sense of the way. And then, badadbing… before the chapter is over we have a sex scene. Now, when it comes to the sex scene it wasn’t nearly as graphic as some I’ve come across. But still, we haven’t even developed a story line before there is a sex scene. OY!

Anyway, once I plodded through the one night stand, and someone is tiptoeing out of the room. The scene jumps to North Carolina and Dante’s work as a detective. And then to a girl that he rescued.

This is one book that I just could not finish. I really and truly tried, but I just could not finish it. This will go to a friend who truly loves the romantic sort of book that doesn’t have to have a strong plot line.

Leave a Reply

