Book Review: The Ship to Nowhere by Rona Arato

29382765.jpg

This was a well written book for a young reader interested in reading about history. Although I’m not classified any longer in the “young reader” status, I still enjoyed reading it. I started reading books as a young reader and often remember reading books on the holocaust. This book was well written and kept me interested and involved in the book, without getting beyond the comprehension level of a young reader. When I say young, it’s not for an early reader, but for someone truly interested in reading and learning.

The story is about a Jewish refugee family trying to leave war torn Europe for Palestine, where they planned on making their home. However, the British were determined to prevent that from happening. This is the story of Rachel and her family on board the ship the Exodus, and how they made it Palestine.

The bonus to the book were the black and white photos throughout the book, enabling the reader to place a person to a face. That these were real people who struggled with their refugee status and trying to find a better home elsewhere.

I also appreciated that at the end of the book, there was an epilogue of sorts. Essentially what happened after the story ended. That’s always my interest. You hear the story and how they were able to get to their destination, but what about their lives afterward? Did they marry, did they die… what happened.

My rating on this book would be a five stars. I believe it’s an excellent introductory to those interested in reading history. For me, it forces me to think of the similar refugee situation happening in our world today. If the era’s were switched, would I be against the Jews resettling in my homeland, or find ways to help them.

A complimentary book was sent to me by the publisher at Second Story Press. The review I wrote was my own honest opinion, without any pressure to be positive or negative. These are my own thoughts.

Leave a Reply

