Book Review: Nourishing Meals by Alissa Segersten & Tom Maleterre

613EJcZmS7L._SS300_.jpg

This book has to be one in the category of one of my great, favorite cookbooks. Who would have every thought that a recipe that encourages healthy eating, would have so many great recipes!

The book itself is described as having gluten-free, dairy-free and soy-free dieshes. It contains 365 whole foods, allergy-free recipes for meal time. I liked the initial idea of having a cookbook that offered a healthy start on eating right, and was willing to try it out.

Well, for me, a cookbook is a keeper when it has usable recipes that actually work, taste good and I’m willing to cook again. This is one of those cookbooks. There were two meals I made out of it. Knowing that I had a bag full of kale that I needed to eat, it was a priority to find a recipe that allowed the kale to be the main focus, and hopefully use up a proper amount. So the first recipe I tried was the lean, mean and green rice salad (p249), in the whole grains and noodles section. Because I had most of the ingredients on it was a no-brainer for me. It was awesome. Absolutely wonderful. So good, I was willing to take it to work the next day and eat leftovers, knowing that they were steps towards healthy eating. The only part I will make note of for myself, is to lower the amount of apple cider vinegar, due to its strength for my taste buds.

The second recipe I made, just to make sure this wasn’t a fluke was a dessert. Chocolate walnut brownie (p. 426) in the desserts section. Now one would expect the chocolate walnut brownie to contain walnuts, and it did. Just not in the format that you would expect. Instead of adding the walnuts to the batter, I put two cups of walnuts in the food processor. Then after processing it down, in went the cocoa, salt and baking soda. Then the wet ingredients. Who knew you could actually make a brownie in the food processor! To be honest, I was a bit leery, not thinking that there was any chance that I would like these, so I cut out a very small piece. Wow. Just wow. I was so impressed. I gave a piece to my non-sweet eating husband (or at least that’s what he says) and he loved it. WOWSERS!

Thanks to these two successful recipes I am looking forward to making more recipes in this cookbook and there are plenty to choose from.

There are some recipes that do call for ingredients that I don’t stock in my house such as teff, an ingredient prior to this cookbook I had never heard about. Perhaps over time I will add almond flour and some of the other flours to my pantry. I am truly curious how other recipes would affect my overall health once they were incorporated into my diet.

The book itself contains more than just recipes. Each section it has helpful information about the recipes contained within the next pages. There are also kitchen tips, ingredients tips and nutrient tips. In addition, there is an allergen key for those interested only in certain types of diets: Gluten-free, no gluten free grains, no dairy, no soy products, no eggs, no tree nuts, and no plant products of the nightshade family (another new term for me!).

Kudo’s to the development and creation of this book. LOVED it! There are just a few pictures, but not many. I thought it would be a detriment, but actually I liked it the way it was done.
I was provided a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher, Harmony Books. The review is my own, honest opinion without any outside influences or requirements.

Leave a Reply

