Book Review: Rhythms of Rest by Shelly Miller

41Jvg+n5dOL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

I found this particular book very interesting, that there is actually a book encouraging the Sabbath. Having grown up in a Seventh-day Advenist household, the Sabbath is nothing new to me. That is the day where you rested and you didn’t go to work. Instead you worshipped and fellowshipped with others. Growing up, we didn’t go out to eat, instead enjoying a meal at home with family. Yet, it always fascinated me when we would go out to eat on a Sunday and observing how many would not treat their particularly chosen church day any more precious than they did.

For me, the Sabbath is how Shelly described it within her book. It is a day to rest. You really do need that day to unwind and find your focus for the upcoming week. Otherwise every day just runs into another day.

The one thing that I didn’t particularly enjoy about the book is that it seemed to be really slow and drag. The concept was there, but it just seemed to drag itself out. I found myself skipping over numerous pages until I realized that what she was writing about, I already knew. Instead, it was a delightful way to educate others on the peace that one can access when they set aside a day. Although the references to the Sabbath continually threw me off, because my Sabbath is Saturday, and the Sabbath referenced within the pages were attributed to Sunday.

I was provided a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher, Bethany House. The review is my own, honest opinion without any outside influences or requirements.

Leave a Reply

