Book Review: A Royal Christmas Wedding by Rachel Hauck

_225_350_Book.2047.cover.jpg

The one thing about the book, you pretty much knew the ending at the get-go. But first you had to go through the angst of it all, while wondering, will it happen or not?

I had enjoyed the first book of royal readings, where Susanna had met her own prince charming, but this is the book about Avery, five years later who returns to Europe with her mom for a royal Christmas. While there, she comes in contact with Colin, the one man who broke her heart.

This being the fourth installment, I have obviously missed a few things along the way. The father has died, Avery had a previous short-lived relationship with Prince Colin. There is also a friend from Georgia who has met her own charming love and lives there. Obviously I’m going to have to pick up the missing two to play catch-up. Despite the lack, I did not feel  like I was overtly lost. The story carried along with no problem, as I remained enthralled in this story.

The only thing I did feel is that I felt rushed along. There was the countdown at the beginning of each chapter, to let us know the importance of the time. I just felt that this story lacked the magic that made me fall into love with the initial book. My expectations were much higher.

Despite that, I will admit that I did get teary eyed at the end. I also started the book and ended the book all in one day, albeit after midnight. I will probably read this again, but at a slower pace and see what I may have missed. All in all, I thought the story did flow along quite nicely.

I received this book complimentary from the publisher, via BookLook Bloggers. The review I wrote was my own honest opinion, without any pressure to present a positive review.

Leave a Reply

