Book Review: Earth Psalms by Francine Rivers

Earth-Psalms.jpg

This is a beautifully nature enriched scenery book of psalms and encouraging weekly reflections on how God speaks to us. The photography is awesome and the stories that are intertwined are just as well written.

To be honest, I didn’t have a lot of hope for this particular book. I thought it sounded interesting, but the cover didn’t really appeal to me. Neither did the title of the book. If anything, I expected this to be part of a bargain bin because of the lack of interest in it selling very well, based upon its cover art soley.

Well, this is one book where you definitely should not judge a book by its cover. My intention was to read it and then pass it along to a friend of mine. It took reading the first few chapters to be assaulted with guilt. I didn’t want to pass this book along. I wanted it to remain in my possessions and claim it as mine. I don’t plan on sharing. The most sharing I will do, is to go to the local bookstore and buy my friend her very own copy.

What did I like about the book, pretty much what I wrote in the opening paragraph. I loved the photography. I loved the way that Francine Rivers wrote. The thought provoking questions at the end, to challenge you to think and perhaps put into practice what you read.

Would I recommend this book? Most definitely.

I received this book complimentary from the publisher, Tyndale Publisher, via the Tyndale Blog Network. The review I wrote was my own honest opinion, without any pressure to present a positive review.

Leave a Reply

