Book Review: A Note Yet Unsung by Tamera Alexander

cover101125-medium.png

LOVED LOVED LOVED this book. This book kept me up reading long after the hours of the day dictated that I should have been asleep. But no, I just didn’t want to stop reading it. I just had to know how it was going to end.

A Note Yet Unsung is about Rebekah Carrington who has returned home after spending her years of education in Europe, learning music. But she returns home after the death of her grandmother and the funds for her to stay overseas is gone. She returns home to a house that holds terrible memories and she’s eager to find a job that allows her to live elsewhere. Thus, her determination to audition for a seat in the orchestra. But despite her determination, she fails to obtain a seat because she is a woman. So after obtaining a potential governess position, she seeks out work so that one day she can apply for a seat in the orchestra in New York, where a woman has successfully been employed.

The one thing that I love about this book is that despite it being book three of the Belmont Mansion series, I did not find myself lost and floundering at any time. In fact, I have no idea who the previous characters were other than the Mrs. Adelicia Cheatham. But upon reading this story, I find that I definitely need (no wait, want) to read the first two in this particular series.

The author, Tamera, did an excellent job I believe in weaving the plot throughout the story along. There wasn’t an excessive amount of talking, and where there was, I was able to stay along with the story without being overwhelmed. There were moments where I could feel moisture in my eyes, and then laugh out loud moments. Then those awwww, and hurray!

The only pieces I felt were lacking were the issues with her and her mom, and the problem with her grandmother’s money, and her stepfather’s issues. The primary story was on Rebekah, and I thought that was just spot on.

I did receive this book from the publisher Bethany House in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

