Book Review: My Heart Belongs in Fort Bliss, Texas by Erica Vetsch

97816340993012.jpg

My Hearts Belongs in Fort Bliss is about Priscilla Hutchen’s who leaves her successful job as an illustrator for a women’s clothing catalog back east, to head to Fort Bliss, Texas and retrieve her niece and nephew. Having grown up herself, in a military household, she is left with less than pleasant experiences. Primarily due to her own mother’s complaints and disagreeable personality when it came to her father’s death.

So with the intention of retrieving the children and heading back home, she is disturbed to realize that this may not be as easy a task as she anticipated. Both her brother and his wife had died, and now her brother’s wife’s brother, the uncle, has the children in his care. Of course, it doesn’t help that this brother is single and attractive. In addition what doesn’t help Priscilla, is that the uncle has no interest in letting Priscilla just “have” the children.

Because of that, Priscilla finds that she must stay to find out a way to let Elliot, the uncle, allow her to bring the children back home with her.

When it came to the book, I believe that the story and plot was quite interesting, which is what intrigued me to pick up the book to read it. The only place I had an issue with was with Priscilla. I didn’t like her. So I have to admit, I did flip through the chapters a little too frequently to find out how the story ended. Which in turn has taught me, that there are certain genre’s/plots that appeal to me, and certain ones that don’t. I believe those that are centered around forts or the military doesn’t keep my interest nearly as much as those that are centered around ranch life. My interest just wasn’t captured with this book, even though I had such high hopes for it.

Kudo’s though to the cover art. I thought it was pretty awesome. And despite me not liking this particular book, I am interested in reading other stories in the series.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review..

Leave a Reply

