Book Review: The Elusive Miss Ellison by Carolyn Miller

51Xfm+LrHQL._SY346_.jpg

At some point, Amazon had this book for a price that I couldn’t refuse to download. Having never read any of Carolyn Miller’s book, I wasn’t certain whether or not I would enjoy the book.

The Elusive Miss Ellison is a Regency romance centered around Lavinia Ellison, the minister’s daughter. She had lost her mother at a young age due to a terrible accident, due to the foolish actions from the Hawkesbury estate. Now, the brother of the one who killed her mother is back in town, and Lavinia is determined to have nothing to do with him. She has no fear of expressing her opinion, especially when it has to do with the poor of the village, the same people that he should be taking an interest in, being as they are his tenants.

I overall really and truly enjoyed the story, about the parts about her mother and the accident were placed to be understood, but yet not fully to me. However, that didn’t deter me from devouring the book. There was plenty of angst within the pages, along with a surprising detour with a journey Lavinia’s life makes.

All in all, I’m truly happy that I downloaded the book. I notice that there are two other books in the series, both are characters that are mentioned in this book. This was one book that I found difficult putting down once I started, which probably explained my reading late into the night.

For once, this is a book that I downloaded on my own, without any complimentary copies from a publisher.

 

Leave a Reply

