Book Review: The Chapel Car Bride by Judith Miller

51OxqGOiRdL.jpg

I had great hope for this book, based on other books I have read by Judith Miller. The premise of the book intrigued me, especially the history woven throughout the pages. Great idea for a book, the chapel connected to a train.

However, where it fell flat for me, was Hope herself. I feel like I didn’t ever get a chance to really “like” her and prove to me that she was a person I wanted to get to know. Then the scenarios of the men appearing and then appearing to her again when she’s teaching children’s school just didn’t ring believable to me.

I made it all the way up to the point where she is meeting Kirby and she’s resting after a bump on her head from a clumsy moment. From there, I just found it hard to go on. So I didn’t. I admit, this is one of those few books where I just couldn’t finish the book. However, based on other people’s reviews, I may have to visit it again and actually complete it.

The cover art on the front is good, and that’s what drew me in. The font for the title seems to be fitting for the atmosphere depicted on the art. Would I recommend this book for others to read? Probably not.

I did receive this book complimentary from Bethany House in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

