Book Review: The Writing Desk by Rachel Hauck

cover108941-medium.png

This is a book that once I really got started, I couldn’t stop. And that includes, finding breaks during work to finish it. Lunch time rolled around and I forfeited lunch, just to finish the book.

I have enjoyed previous books by Rachel Hauck, so I had grand expectations. But the start of the story just threw me off. I was off-kilter and confused and not at all understanding what was going on. From the beginning, I was thrust into an event for the main character, Tenley, and her honor in the publishing world. And then, I’m thrust back in time to Birdie, and young woman, an heiress who is destined to marry for money and not love. Then you had Jonas and Elijah and so many other characters.

And yet, despite the awkward start of this book, I loved it. I’m not really sure what prompted me to pick up the book and then to finish it, but I am so glad I did. It inspired me.

The book is about Tenley Roth, and now that she has a bestseller on her hands, her next book is due in three months. The problem, she has writers block. Intertwined with Tenley’s story, is Birdie Sheshorn, the daughter of old money. Her path is decided for her, included who she is to marry. But all she wants to do is write and somehow make the world a better place. The two women live in separate time periods, and yet they are bound together.

 

Would I recommend this book? Most definitely.

I received this complimentary copy from the publisher via Netgalley.

Leave a Reply

