Book Review: The Book of Greens by Jenn Louis

9781607749844.jpg

Synopsis: This is for those of us who are aware of the wealth of green veggies out in the market today, but have no idea how to cook or use them, outside of the typical same greens you eat day after day. This cookbook is for us. It tells us the good things about the green vegetables and in addition, provides some recipes that we can follow along and taste the greens for ourselves.

I did try one of the recipes, and it was for a minestrone soup. The one thing (outside of the greens) that took my soup from medicore to outstanding, was the heel of cheese that was recommended. In addition, in my soup I used rice versus the traditional pasta. For me, the recipe was a 10+ which means I can rate this book super high. Because the recipes are wonderful. At least with the one I tried. BUT, it means that I don’t have any trepidation in trying any others, because my experience says that they work.

In addition to the recipes, I found the details about each green very informative and helpful. It has made me want to go out and find greens, outside of my typical kale, spinach and romaine, and explore the world of greens.

I did get this book complimentary from the publisher, however the review is based upon my own opinion.

Leave a Reply

