Book Review: My Heart Belongs in the Superstition Mountains by Susan Page Davis

97816832200773.jpg

So after reading the first book in the My Heart Belongs series, I should have made an accurate assumption that I probably shouldn’t read any more. But, I had hope that the only reason I didn’t like the first book (Fort Bliss, Texas) was the setting, in a military outpost. I was wrong. I didn’t like this book either and my reasoning follows.

Carmela has been under the beck and call of her uncle, since her parents died so many years ago. Her uncle, seeing that he has a potential money maker on his hands, forces Carmela to follow a script complete with Indian tattoos about how she was an Indian captive. But sadly, none of it was true. The money made from Carmela telling the story over the years has helped line her uncle’s pockets.

At one point in time, she cries and a young boy comes upon her and promises to get help. Sadly, the help doesn’t arrive and it’s years later before she returns with her uncle to the same town. While riding on stagecoach to the next destination, they come upon outlaws who leave Carmela and the sheriff with his prisoner behind. But, inadvertently take Carmela’s uncle.

I truly had hope for this story, and I read with with great anticipation. But then I got tired of it. I didn’t like Carmela. She seemed like such a fickle thing and the sheriff with whom she was with, the intertwining of their stories just didn’t jive with me. Sadly, I didn’t even finish the book, although in hindsight I should, just so I know what happened to Carmela’s uncle!

I received a complimentary copy from Barbour Publishing in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

