Book Review: A Heart Most Certain by Melissa Jagears

51qA0H26qLL._SY346_.jpg

 

This was an interesting story, about Lydia King and her desire to help the prostitutes of the town and their children. She lives at the orphanage, with her parents and while she truly wants to help the children, she realizes that her parents may not be able to help her out at the orphanage much longer. She turns to Nicholas Lowe, who is the owner of the jar canning company, and asks for money. But what she doesn’t realize, is that he’s in town only long enough to sell the company. There was some sort of disagreement between he and his father, so he’d rather not ruffle his feathers. Especially when it comes to spending money.

From reading the synopsis once more about what the story is about, after I started the book I realized that it didn’t fall in line with what I initially read. I made it through several chapters before putting it aside to read at a much later date. There were other books on my kindle I wanted to start.

For instance, in the first chapters we understand that there is so pressing reason why Lydia must work at the orphanage and that she has no desire to ever marry. Why? I don’t know. She has her parents there, although she acknowledges that they would probably prefer to be elsewhere, but why are they there? There was nothing that hinted or gave me reason to hang on to the book to find out.

I suppose my biggest reason, I didn’t like Lydia. There was nothing in the story that prompted me to continue reading.

That said, I believe that plot and premise of the story was an interesting read and could possibly be enjoyable should I choose to read this in the future. I will be passing the book to my mom to read and find out her opinion. Often times she will love a book which will force me to reread a book and see what my new opinion will b.e

I received a complimentary copy from Bethany Publishers in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

