Book Review: Catching the Wind by Melanie Dobson

51tYtkCczxL.jpg

This story blew me away. Having stumbled upon a book prior that was a bit dry, I feared that maybe it wasn’t the book that was the problem, but me. I was wrong. This story restored my faith in reading. This was a phenomenal book, well written that interweaved between the two time periods. Both stories were necessary as they weaved together to the end.

Catching the Wind is about a quest to find Brigitte Berthold. At the age of thirteen, Daniel Knight (Dietmar) rescued his best friend in fleeing for their lives in Nazi Germany. Sadly, they were separated as they came into England, and for years afterward Daniel had been searching for his Brigette.

Daniel had initiated numerous searches over the years, but no one returned with any type of information that was useful. Most of all, information about his beloved best friend. So he turns to Quenby Vaugh, who is an American journalist, to use her tenacity in finding out the story. With the help of Lucas, Daniel Knight’s lawyer, they both go through the clues to find out what happened to Brigette, in turn, Quenby learns what happened to her mom so many years ago.

Again, this story is remarkably wonderful. I loved every minute of it, wanting to dash forward through the pages, but knowing I couldn’t, because I might miss a detail of importance. Would I recommend this book? Most definitely! Two thumbs up and a round of applause for the author (and her editors). This will be a book I will keep for many years to come, and will share with all to read.

I received this book complimentary from the publisher via Netgalley.

One thought on “Book Review: Catching the Wind by Melanie Dobson

Leave a Reply

