Book Review: My Daughter’s Legacy by Mindy Starns Clark; Leslie Gould

cover115487-medium.png

When I selected this book to read, I thought the premise of it sounded interesting. The story starts off with Nicole, who is returning home from college. Previously she had been in treatment for an addiction and injury, but having not read the previous books (didn’t realize this was the third in a series) I was a bit confused as to what was going on. Fortunately, the story didn’t lose me as much as some other three part books.

The one thing I did like about the book, was how it was written. Initially that is. I liked the way how the author played with the words, because I wanted to read more and understand what was going on. But then I hit Therese, and hit a wall. I wanted to know about Nicole, not Therese. So I found myself fast forwarding through the book to get to the bits about Nicole and the drama going on within the family.

But then, the story just seemed to go on forever. And I wanted to just get to the meat of what was going on and how they were going to solve the issue. This is one time that I wished I had a hard copy book, because then it would have been so much easier to flip ahead, and then flip back a few pages. A kindle, isn’t so kind in that aspect.

Essentially, there are two stories intermingled here. Nicole of present day and Therese of the civil war days. And they both are learning about themselves and learning how to love. I just couldn’t figure out the purpose of the two stories, over than Therese’s arrival while Nicole was looking at old photos. Great idea, but for me, I just didn’t like it.

I received a copy of this book from the publisher, via netgalley, in exchange for an honest review.

 

Leave a Reply

