Book Review: Foundations of Drawing by Al Gury

61O7mKBiHwL.jpg

Being a graphic designer, I’ve taken several drawing classes and art classes in the past. However, thanks to some less than stellar teachers, I have a certain phobia when it comes to drawing. My brain wants me to draw, but when I place a pencil in my hand I seem to freeze up. I think, I don’t understand what I need to do? Do I have the right pencil? Paper? Where do I start with a drawing?

That said, I have several drawing books, one of my more favorite ones is “The Drawing Lesson” by Mark Grilley. However, this particular book, hit a note and left me loving it.

This is not your typical drawing book, because it will not tell you step by step instructions on how to draw. In fact, if your purpose in buying this book is to physically draw on paper, don’t expect that. This instead, is a perfect book for learning about the drawing process. Learning the basic history of drawing. It’s just that, a foundation of drawing.

What I appreciated is the basic explanation of art over the years. They kept the sections contained, and didn’t go overboard into explaining the various artists and methods of each century, and believe me, there are a lot!

But what I really liked, and made me wonder why drawing/art teachers don’t focus on this more, is the section on explanations of the types of medium to draw with an on. How to hold the pencil, the types of paper, what graphite is and it’s different mediums. I could go on and on. Essentially, this is an awesome book to supplement your actual drawing book instructions. A classroom should have this, before or in addition, to the drawing class. It makes so much sense. I love it and will keep it on my bookshelf for future reading and reference.

Just one word of note, there are alot of photos of nude men and women, so this isn’t necessarily destined for a pre-teen or adolescent child, unless you want them looking primarily at the photos, rather than the content. 🙂

I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

