Book Review: You Can Do This by Tricia Lott Williford

467461.jpg

First off, I forgot I had selected this book, so when it came in the mail my immediate thoughts were that it was a thin Christian fiction book. By completely ignoring the small writing in yellow in the top left corner, I flipped it over to realize it was a self-help style book. It’s a cool cover with a hand lettering style. Kudo’s on the designer of this cover.

But to the book itself, I opened the book the next day during a slow period at work thinking I would get a feel for the book in the first few chapters and then set it aside. I was wrong. I didn’t set it aside. Instead, I continued to flip page after page, chapter after chapter delving into the writing and thoughts shared by Tricia.

The book is essentially guided us as women to find our confidence again. Consider it delightful self-help book to keep close and handy for those days that turn into weeks where you wonder where your self-confidence went. We all have those days and right now I’m having one of those months. So for me the book was timely.

The back cover has a mantra that I believe every woman should chant to themselves and believe of themselves, “You are smart. You are kind. You are beautiful. You are confident.” But within the pages of the book, Tricia, as she describes the book, is writing for herself to turn to when her confidence falters and in turn is sharing with us her guide to restoring confidence.

I found her writing style to be one that spoke to me. I got her. I understood what she was saying and loved the majority of the book. Anything I didn’t like was so nit-picky that it doesn’t affect my overall rating of the book.

This will be a book I will definitely share with others. There is nothing new inside that all of us don’t already know, but it’s delightfully written that you just want to ooze with confidence.

I received this book from the publisher, Tyndale Publishing, in exchange for an honest review. The opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

