Book Review: The Sweet Smell of Magnolias and Memories by Celeste Fletcher McHale

5152AOi0uVL.jpg

Once upon a time I lived in Louisiana and Mississippi, so the story of Colin and Jacey intrigued me, looking forward to reliving my days in the southern states in a romantic vibe.

Jacey and Colin initially met on top of a roof, during a flood that swirled around them. They were rescued, but Jacey ended up in a boat with a young family, while Colin stayed behind for the next rescue boat. There is an accident, and the memories that Jacey had are sporadically gone. She remembers Colin and tries to find him, despite losing the information that he gave to her while on the roof.

Time passes and Jacey comes face to face with Colin. He is now a minister and is officiating the wedding that she is a bridesmaid in. Now that they have found one another, she must face the demons that arise when memories surface from the time of the flood.

This story. I didn’t like. I tried so hard to get into it, but I would find myself like the waters in the flood, being swished one way and then the next. It was a great idea for a story, but the follow through in keeping on task was difficult for me to follow. After reading a few chapters, I began flipping through the pages looking for the meat that would carry me through to the end. I didn’t find it. I read very quickly the quirks of the story and the way it ended. Had potential, but for my personal style of writing, this wasn’t it.

I received this book from the publisher via booklook bloggers. All opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

