Book Review: Colored Pencil Painting Portraits by Alyona Nickelsen

9780385346276_p0_v1_s192x300.jpg

Being a graphic designer, I have the opportunity to experiment with various mediums to create art. My preferred method is digital, but I’ve been longing to attempt art forms in colored pencils. There is a stack of prismacolor pencils I have stacked in a jar on my desk, begging to be used.

Thus, when I selected this book to read and review I was looking forward to seeing how it would assist me. Of course, my initial impression was that it was for some far more advanced than my own miniscule talents. But that said, I was impressed with the book.

First off, the book itself speaks quality. There was no skimping on paper nor on the cover. It is perfect as a companion piece or even as a coffee table book. Although, I prefer it with my other books on art to share with fellow artists.

For me, what I fell in love with the book, is that it can be used as a guide for those just into the colored pencil aspect of drawing, or for those who are farther into the field and want to improve upon their skill. But again, remember, I’m not a professional so for those with many more years experience may not find it as captivating as I did.

What I liked about it was the way it was written. It didn’t write down to me, expecting me to already know so much about pencil portrait drawing. It guided me, encouraged me, made me want to grab a pencil and learn so much more about the drawing with colored pencils. I’m ready to draw!

I received this book from the publisher via Blogging for Books. All opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

